Monday, March 3, 2008

Han named to All-MAAC Second Team

Junior point guard Jonathan Han was named to the All-MAAC Second Team earlier today. Han is averaging 11.7 points per game and a MAAC-best 6.1 assists per game. Han missed out on the first team, meaning he will not be eligible for the player of the year award.

Loyola's Gerald Brown, Niagara's Charron Fisher, Rider's Jason Thompson, Siena's Kenny Hasbrouck and Edwin Ubiles made up the first team. Thompson, who is averaging 20.2 points and 11.8 rebounds per game is the favorite to win the player of the year award. Fisher is leading the nation in scoring with 27.8 points per game.

The only player who Han could have challenged for a spot on the team was Hasbrouck, the Saints point guard who is averaging 15.7 points and 2.6 assists per game. Hasbrouck struggled a bit down the stretch, while Han was the biggest part of the Stags turn around. Next season Hasbrouck and Han could be two of the favorites for pre-season player of the year.

Joining Han on the second team are: Niagara's Ty Lewis, Rider's Ryan Thompson, St. Peter's Todd Sowell and Siena's Alex Franklin.

-Tom Cleary (Picture credit Jon Ollwerther/The Mirror)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home